French Toast with Pinapple Syrup

Oh My Word! We had French Toast for lunch and I wanted to make something to go with or on it. Unfortunately I forgot to pick up bacon at the store so, I had to do some thinking. We’ve had some frozen pineapple in the freezer and after looking at different ideas on Pinterest I came up with this sauce that was AMAZING! Like I’m licking the plate amazing! I asked my husband if he wanted some on his and he made a face and said no. Well he tried some and actually told me “I was wrong”. That’s how good this stuff is! Unfortunately only Steven, G and I are up to eating. All three kids were feeling so bad we skipped church and put them down for naps at 9:30AM. S woke up from her feeling a little better and B woke up a little later not feeling good at all. G slept for over 3 hours! He was able to get 1 1/2 slices down. B is back asleep on the couch and S ate a few bites and is now cuddled with me on the recliner. I’m hoping after a good night sleep they will all be better tomorrow morning.

French Toast:

Bread- We use Rudi’s bread if I haven’t made any. I love the sourdough but they were all out so I got the Country White.

8 eggs

3/4 cup milk (We use unsweetened almond milk)

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Earth Balance Soy/Dairy free butter or Olive Oil spray for pan

Pineapple Topping:

Half a bag of frozen pineapple

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup orange juice

2 teaspoons Earth Balance soy/dairy free butter

For the French Toast- whisk eggs and add milk, vanilla, and cinnamon. Heat pan over slightly over medium heat and add butter/spray.  Soak bread slices in egg mix and place in pan (Don’t soak for too long or the bread will fall apart.) Cook until brown on each side.

For the topping- Place pineapple and half the brown sugar in a saucepan over medium until thawed. Add the rest of the brown sugar and orange juice and bring to a boil. Keep at a boil for 3-4 min and add butter than boil for 3-4 more min.

Add topping to French toast and enjoy as is or add a little maple syrup. The topping is sweet enough on it’s own in my opinion! I also cut the kids into sticks to dip. They loved it! Hope you all enjoy!

IMG_7167

Leave a Reply

